Home - ECON 215 - Principles of Macroeconomics - LibGuides at Montcalm Community College

Economic Data & Information

American Economics Association - Resources for Students
This informative site is for students at any level interested in the study of economics.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy. Includes information on the GDP, state, local and foreign trade numbers and investment and industry stats.
Bureau of Economic Anaylsis (BEA)
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy, including GDP, state, local and foreign trade numbers, and investment stats and industry data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
EH.Net Historical Databases
EH.Net provides an on-line location for researchers in economic history to make their data series available to other professionals and interested scholars.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.

Economic Indicators and Resources

American Economic Association
This site lists more than 2,000 resources in 97 sections and sub-sections available on the Internet of interest to academic and practicing economists
Consumer Price Indexes
The Consumer Price Index (CPI) is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas. Average price data for select utility, automotive fuel, and food items are also available.
Federal Reserve: Economic Research
Provides access to the Federal Reserve's economic research sources.
GPO - Economic Indicators
Beginning in 1985, this site provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets.
Index of Economic Freedom
The Index covers 12 freedoms – from property rights to financial freedom – in 186 countries.
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions
Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources.
Survey of Current Business
This is the journal of record for the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA).
Treasury Bulletin
The Treasury Bulletin contains a mix of narrative, tables, and charts related to:
Treasury issues, federal financial operations,
international statistics, and financial commitments of the U.S. government.
US Census Economic Statistics
YourEconomy (YE)
This is an online information tool that allows users to analyze business activity from the community level, to the state level, and across the country.

Public Policy Resources

Brookings Institution
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR)
The Center for Economic and Policy Research (CEPR) promotes democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people's lives.
The Peterson Institute for International Economics
ABOUT PIIE
The Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE) is a private, nonpartisan nonprofit institution committed to rigorous, intellectually open, and indepth study and discussion of international economic policy
Stanford Center on Poverty and Inequality
The Stanford Center on Poverty and Inequality is committed to providing research, policy analysis, and training on issues of poverty and inequality.

Economic Data - Other Countries

The World Bank - Doing Business
Economies are ranked on their ease of doing business, from 1–190.
Global Edge
Global Insights provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
IMD World Competitiveness Online (free version)
IMD World Competitiveness Online is a unique and comprehensive database on the competitiveness of nations. The strength of our methodology lies in the combination of statistical data (2/3) and survey data (1/3) obtained through our exclusive business executives’ opinion survey.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
NationMaster
This is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations.
US Department of State - Country Fact Sheets
This site provides brief profiles on countries and their interaction with the United States. Additional, relevant info links provided.
The World Bank - Countries and Regions
The World Bank provides data and analysis on countries and regions.

Tutorials - Supply & Demand

Tutorials - Physical Capital Curve

On the Shelves at the MCC Library

Popular Economics by John Tamny
Call Number: 330 TAM
ISBN: 1621573370
Publication Date: 2015-04-13
The Economics Book by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 330 ECO
ISBN: 0756698278
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
Economics by Partha Dasgupta
Call Number: 330 DAS
ISBN: 140276894X
Publication Date: 2010-05-04
Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner
Call Number: 330.03 LEV
ISBN: 006073132X
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
SuperFreakonomics by Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner
Call Number: 330.03 LEV
ISBN: 0060889578
Publication Date: 2009-10-20
Move by Rosabeth Moss Kanter; Donald L. Kanter
Call Number: 380.509/731 KAN
ISBN: 0393246809
Publication Date: 2015-05-11
Mind of the Market by Michael Shermer
Call Number: 330.1 SHE
ISBN: 0805078320
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
Teachings from the Worldly Philosophy by Robert L. Heilbroner
Call Number: 330 HEI
ISBN: 0393039196
Publication Date: 1996-04-17
A Cash-Free Society by Kai A. Olsen
Call Number: 332.58 OLS
ISBN: 1442227427
Publication Date: 2018-08-10
Richest Man in Babylon - Original Edition by George S. Clason
Call Number: 332.2 CLA
ISBN: 1939438330
Publication Date: 2015-08-10

Library Information

Library Contact Information

www.montcalm.edu/library

(989) 328-1261

LibraryStaff@montcalm.edu

NOTE: Computers and print stations are temporarily unavailable due to library construction. We apologize for any inconvenience and will keep you informed when these services become available again.

The library is in the lower level of the Donald C. Burns Administration/ Library Building on the Sidney campus.

Library Hours

2025 Spring Hours

January 13th - May 2nd

Monday-Thursday

8:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Friday 8:30 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.

Closed Saturdays, and Sundays

The MCC Library staff are also available to assist students, staff, and faculty via email, librarystaff@montcalm.edu.

Database Passwords

Current MCC students, faculty and staff will need to enter a username and password to view MCC Library's databases when trying to access the databases from an off-campus location. No passwords are needed when accessing the databases while on MCC's Sidney or Greenville campuses.

Business and Economic Databases

AtoZ Databases.com
Detailed information on 30 million businesses and executives and 200 million residents, including new movers/homeowners, healthcare professionals, jobs, background/criminal checks and email marketing.
Gale Demographics Now
Provides users with access to U.S. demographic data. Ideal for small business and economic development.
ProQuest Researcher
This database provides a single source for scholarly journals, newspapers, reports, working papers, and datasets along with millions of pages of digitized historical primary sources.

MCC Library Catalog

Books and more
This link provides access to the material held in the MCC Library.

Ebook Central

Ebook Central
Over 1,000,000 full-text books for viewing in your web browser. Books cover a broad range of academic subjects.

ECON 215 - Principles of Macroeconomics: Home